Freedom…Aint’ Free

First formed by God
with gentle hands
re formed by man with hate in his plans
trying to break free
of a mold that no longer fits
so tired of being who I never was
I will die if I cannot be who
I know I am
no longer secondary an afterthought
self is now foremost in my forethought in my own mind
I saw myself in a bad dream
and I had to wake my self up
Blinding sun and pure water
washed off the dust
left by the men who’s hands tried in vain to recreate me into their own image
but the clay never hardened
and I stepped away from that ideal
into free form
weightless
reborn
smooth and polished from rubbing against stones
glowing black
snuffing out the lies that hide in the light
and finally
freedom
and sadly it wasn’t free.

Leave a Reply

