YOUR VOICE

The sound of your voice
is like a choir of angels
and a rushing river
moving me to react
with nervous energy
and smiles that break free
no matter how I try to restrain them
your voice calms and
excites me both
moves me and stills
me at the same time
your voice is my present
and my past
a fond memory
and something I look forward
to hearing in harmony
with the signing of morning birds
your voice is my hello! my good morning
and crickets chirping in the dark blue
of the late evening
your voice
is unique in its accent
quality, and tone
unique in that it belongs
to only you
and how I love to hear the melodies
of sounds and rhythms that
make beautiful music
and come only from your voice.

Leave a Reply

